Showcase: Brie Jessen-Vaughan

Our showcase of Wellington educators continues. This week: Brie Jessen-Vaughan, a teacher at Newlands Intermediate.

Brie

1. What brought you to #WellyED?

I love education and curriculum design and I wanted to find ways to connect with other teachers who shared these passions beyond my own school. I love the idea of connecting with others from different points of view because those intersections are where the awesomeness happens; plus I just love me some good old fashioned pedagogical geekery!

2. What’s something exciting that’s happening in your classroom or in your sector?

I work in an intermediate so there is always something exciting happening. I think the most exciting thing that’s happening in my classroom is the way students are using different supports like SOLO, Design Thinking and Building Learning Power (we’re a BLP school) to take more control of their learning and make it practical, real and authentic.

3. Who or what inspires you?

I’m the kind of person who gets really inspired by ideas. I’ve always loved design, so that’s a big one for me and I really love a lot of the ideas around education design coming out of Scandinavia at the moment. I also love the book The Third Teacher – read it if you haven’t already! My colleagues both at my school and online are always inspiring, but most of all my students inspire me – usually with little throwaway comments that they make or the way they notice something. I love to then take these and build on them in some way.

4. What’s your next professional learning goal?

My next professional learning goal is to implement design thinking more widely across my school and to deepen my knowledge and understanding of it too. I’m also challenging my self to share more of myself professionally.

5. When I’m not teaching I’m…

When I’m not teaching I’m usually hanging with my family, playing make believe with my 1-year old son, teaching dance (I also run a small dance studio), making/designing something or spending time taking photos or reading online.

Follow Brie on Twitter, Google+ and read her blog.

And be sure to make contact if there’s a local educator you’d like to see featured here – and that includes you yourself!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Showcase: Brie Jessen-Vaughan

  1. Pingback: Eduignite 2014 | WellyED

Leave a Reply

