Showcase: Leanne Stubbing

It’s fantastic this week to be able to showcase one of the founders of #WellyED: Leanne Stubbing, who is a primary school teacher at Kelburn Normal School.

20141129_145647_resized

1. What brought you to #WellyED?

I am, and have always been a networker. I enjoy people and dispersing ideas and knowledge through conversation. When I saw the idea first being discussed on Twitter I was keen to be part of the movement. I wanted to be connected to other teachers in Wellington, especially those who were early adopters, front runners and creative types.

2. What’s something exciting that’s happening in your classroom or in your sector?

I have introduced my class to Geocaching this term. I wanted to choose a topic that would really interest and inspire them. I also wanted something that was cross-curricular. They have learnt about maps, compass directions, coordinates and decrypting and writing codes. They have also successfully designed their own geocache huts based on the Keminiko Miniature huts and made a school-based geocache hunt. Other classes can ask for the clues and the map and can see if they can find the geocaches. It has been great watching the kids working together to ensure that other children in the school can enjoy the hunt and be introduced to geocaching at the same time.

3. Who or what inspires you?

I am constantly inspired by the educators who I follow on Twitter. There is some amazing future-focused thinking going on and being shared in that public space. I feel very fortunate that I have been able to meet most of them face to face now and cemented our connections. The planning team for the WellyEd Educamp is just one example of inspiration and dedication.

4. What’s your next professional learning goal?

I am very fortunate to have been chosen to be part of the Virtual Learning Professional Development Programme for 2015. I am really looking forward to being paired with a mentor and developing my practice around how I lead my school in elearning.

5. When I’m not teaching I’m…

playing football, at zumba, in the garden, reading a book, walking in Zealandia, watching rugby league, drinking craft beer… ah… er… and on Twitter!!

Follow Leanne on ah…er…Twitter @fivefoot3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Showcase: Leanne Stubbing

  1. Pingback: Tales from ‘Round the Campfire | WellyED

  2. Pingback: Eduignite: Makerspace Mondays | WellyED

Leave a Reply

