Showcase: Paula Hay

In honour of WellyED’s launch event tomorrow – educampwelly whoot whoot! – we’re showcasing our hostess with the mostest: amazing St Mary’s College HOD Science Paula Hay.

GetAttachment

1. What brought you to #WellyED?

I love any opportunity to talk about education and education related ideas. Having joined Twitter in July 2014 I have been happily exploring the connections that have sprouted from being part of this online community. After the #edchatnz conference in 2014 (that I unfortunately did not attend), I coerced Philippa Nicoll Antipas into meeting me face to face to tell me all about it. After this meeting, the #WellyED community appeared and I jumped right on board! I am looking forward to building some amazing connections with our awesome welly educators. I am also sure that my non-teacher friends will be very happy that I have other educators to talk with about teaching and learning!!

2. What’s something exciting that’s happening in your sector or in your classroom?

In 2015 I have the amazing opportunity to try a new course! This is going to be a general Science course for Year 13 students, and is going to be using Level 3 NCEA Achievement Standards from all of the Science domains (Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Space Science and Physics). The exciting part is that I have only the vaguest idea of what this course is going to contain! The students will meet up on the first days and as a group we will attempt to explore the skills and talents that we currently perceive we have, and discuss ideas and topics that interest us all. Then, we will put together some contexts for learning AND THEN I will think about assessment. It sounds scary and exciting all at the same time!

3. Who or what inspires you?

People who challenge me are my inspiration. This is most definitely my students! My team of teachers in the Science Department are also great inspiration. I feel like we are all on the same wavelength, but still so individual in our teaching and learning styles, yet somehow we all work together! The teachers who founded #scichatnz are also great inspiration. Other inspirations are Liz Richardson from VUW who started up the Te Roopu Awhina program and Azra Moeed who is a great voice for science education.

4. What’s your next professional learning goal?

To learn how to say no… To build better community relationships within our Maori and our Pasifika communities at our school. For me personally, my goal is to achieve this through building the Awhina program within the school.

5. When I’m not teaching I’m…

Organising the Biology teachers and Chemistry Teachers conference here in Wellington, being on the Capital City Science Educators Committee (CCSE), taking kapa haka, studying, playing the euphonium, teaching myself the trombone, hanging out on Twitter, reading, baking… AND… Teaching Zumba!!!

Please make sure you connect with this fabulous local educator. Paula’s Twitter handle is @heymrshay.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

