Showcase: Angelee Jarrett

Meet another of our fabulous local educators. This week’s showcase features the chalking champion Angelee Jarrett, who teaches at St Mark’s Church School.

GetAttachment

1. What brought you to #WellyED?

As I listened to the AMAZING educators at an ignite evening in late 2014 at the CORE offices in Wellington, I was highly inspired by the people who take charge of their own professional learning. From my understanding, #WellyED came to be because of this type of educator! It seems to be a place where I will be able to meet and collaborate with like-minded educators, and hopefully get engaged in dialogue with people who are inspired by change, especially in the context of pedagogy and future-focused teaching and learning practices.

2. What’s something exciting that’s happening in your sector or in your classroom?

Our school has now rolled out BYOD into all primary classrooms and several of my students are bringing in devices each day. It is exciting to help these digital natives see that they can use apps for different purposes; that they can create, collaborate and communicate with others around the world and in the classroom just across the corridor too!

Something exciting in my classroom has been the use of Quadblogging (first time giving this a go!) and I hope to use individual blogs with my New Entrant and Year 1 students to help develop their skills in emergent writing. For World Read Aloud Day, I am trying to organise a Skype with a few schools from the world on that day. The most exciting part of what I do in my classroom is giving my students tools so they can be literate little people and enjoy language and learning as much as I do!

3. Who or what inspires you?

I am inspired by humanitarianism. Good people doing good things for others.

4. What’s your next professional learning goal?

It is challenging to narrow this down to just one…. I will share a few focuses of mine, rather than a goal. I am focusing on using a variety of sources for my planning, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+ groups, education blogs. A focus on taking my own professional learning into my own hands has taken a front seat in 2015 and being aware of the personal/professional balance (or lack thereof!) in my life features tops!

5. When I’m not teaching I’m…

Walking my dog, reading a book, playing football, pottering in the garden, enjoying the people I care about, my husband, family and friends! I am also a keen pinner and am currently working on revising the plans for our home renovations! I like travel and exploring new places, around New Zealand and also around the world. We hope our next travel adventure will take us to Southeast Asia so any tips appreciated!

And you can forward these tips to Angelee on Twitter @angeleeasu! We’d love to continue to showcase more local educators – please get in touch @Welly_ED or email wellyed@hotmail.com.

This entry was posted in Showcase and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

