Showcase: Nathaniel Louwrens

As he says himself, Nathaniel’s been with #WellyED since its inception. So we’re very pleased to showcase him this week. Nathaniel’s a facilitator with the wonderful #educampwelly sponsor CORE Education.

Louwrens2014 - b-8

  1. What brought you to #WellyED?

I jumped onto the #WellyED bandwagon in its very early days through a discussion between a few of us on Twitter. I’m really keen to see greater collaboration amongst teachers and across the sector. What better place to start than in our own backyard?

  1. What’s something exciting that’s happening in your sector or in your classroom?

Working as a facilitator means I’m privileged to see what’s going on across a number of schools. I’m excited to see so many schools and individual teachers who are determined to do more for our students in order to see them succeed. This ranges from seeing more and more getting going with using digital technologies in the classroom to increased collaboration both within and between schools and a growing interest in modern learning practices and pedagogies.

  1. Who or what inspires you?

I’m inspired by a lot of people from my kids to my colleagues and even further afield. One thing that really inspires me is the amount of sharing of practice, resources and ideas that happens online – especially on Twitter. It’s so exciting to see passionate educators continuing to share and learn in their own time and not being bound by the 9-3 school day.

  1. What’s your next professional learning goal?

I’ve got a couple of goals I’m working towards this year. The first one is around asking better questions in order to support those I’m working with more effectively. The second is to learn some basic Te Reo Māori as a part of becoming more culturally responsive.

  1. When I’m not teaching I’m…

Watching cricket; spending time with my wife and 5 kids; geocaching; relaxing.

Follow Nathaniel on Twitter: @nlouwrens and read his blog: Teaching at the end of the earth

This entry was posted in Showcase and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Showcase: Nathaniel Louwrens

  1. Pingback: Eduignite 2014 | WellyED

Leave a Reply

