Eduignite Showcase: Lisa Bengtsson

Our series continues – showcasing the inspiring speakers who shared their work at last month’s Eduignite. This week it’s Lisa Bengtsson from Amesbury School. She started by apologise for her ‘dry’ content, but quickly wowed all those present! 

GetAttachment

You can view her fantastic work on Number Knowledge by clicking here.

1. What brought you to #WellyED?

Making connections with other teachers. I think I’ve learned more from you all than any course I’ve been on! I also think it’s important that we continue to strengthen the Wellington teachers’ network as there are so many amazing teachers out there with inspiring stories and ideas.

2. What’s something exciting that’s happening in your sector or in your classroom?

Really trying to personalise learning. Our goal is not not waste students’ time and not ‘learning’ something they already know. It requires being very flexible, having good notes from one week to the next and really knowing your students. It’s a great feeling knowing that kids can move freely between ‘groups’ and they feel confident telling me what they need and when the workshop I’m giving is not for them. I’ve been trying (in maths) for students to choose the right group for the week based on a scale and a few sample activities and this is working well. One thing I’ve realised is that keeping track of all of this information is actually easier offline so I’ve gone back to a simple scrapbook which I record data, notes etc. in.

3. Who or what inspires you?

Other teachers inspire me. I’m always amazed at the capacity of so many of you. Being around so many great people makes me want to be a better teacher and I’m always looking for ideas to steal. I love the enthusiasm for education and students which makes me very proud of our profession.

4. What’s your next professional learning goal?

I would love to bring coding into my regular programme more. Not stand alone, but integrated as and when it can. This has been a huge learning curve for me as I’m learning alongside my students. And as always I’ve got some fabulous ideas and resources from other teachers to keep me motivated on my journey.

5. When I’m not teaching I’m…

Blobbing at home with my family. Just chilling out being a normal person. Mountain biking some, reading trashy novels, splashing in the puddles some. Just enjoying the little things in life.

Keep the connection going with Lisa on Twitter @blonde_bat or email her: lisa@amesbury.school.nz

And if you’re keen to host a future Eduignite event at your school, please email us: WellyED@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

